President's Corner

We did it! We made it through the school year! On behalf of the Jefferson PTA Board, we would like to say THANK YOU to each and every person in our Jefferson Community. You have all helped make this year very special.  We accomplished much together.  

Because of you, we welcomed our new Principal, Dr. Podraza, with open arms. We showed her what it means to be a Jefferson Tiger. And in return, she embraced us right back. She fit right in and we didn't skip a beat. Her ideas are big and bold. Her energy is infectious. Mostly, it's been fun to have her at Jefferson.

Because of all of you, we had amazing events all year, we kicked it all off with our New Family Play Dates, the Ice Cream Social and the Welcome Back Breakfast. We celebrated our cherished traditions such as the Book Fair, Thanksgiving Feast, the Giving Tree, the Winter Carnival and a ton of other events and programs.  

Because of you, we weathered the storm. Our school year didn't end the way we anticipated but we made the best of it. And we all certainly have a renewed appreciation for our wonderful teachers. We're so grateful for all of them and the entire staff at Jefferson.  

Because of you, we voted in our new Jefferson PTA Board for the 2020-2021 school year. We would like to welcome and congratulate them all. They are: 

President                                     Meghan Hood
VP of Membership                       Maggie Schweitzer
VP of Communications                Kathy Fromm
VP of Events                                Jen Bullock
VP of Programs                           Kanako Shuaipaj
VP of Fundraising                       Jackie Messina
VP of Fundraising                       Laura West
Recording Secretary                   Cathy Dykes
Treasurer                                     Meredith Vogel

Because of you, your generosity, your time, your talent and especially your help, we are Jefferson!

Thank you from your Jefferson PTA Board 2019-2020:

Ioana Fernandez, Kathy Fromm, Donna Hayes, Pam McGuckin, Dr. Podraza, Kanako Shuaipaj, Jen Taylor, Kerri Timmerwilke, Meredith Vogel, Stephanie Palzkill and Phil Fernandez


PTA President Committee Chair volunteer(s) needs: The following President Committee Chair positions are vacant for the 2020-2021 school year. 

  • PTA Legislation Committee - 1 chair needed
  • PTA Scholarship Committee - 1 chair needed
  • REACH Representative - 1 chair needed

Please email Meghan Hood at if you are interested in volunteering or have any questions.   

President Committees