Jefferson Elementary School

News Item: Homepage

Elmhurst Commission on Youth Honors 73 Volunteers

The City of Elmhurst’s Commission on Youth honored 73 young volunteers at its annual Exemplary Youth Service Awards program, on Wednesday, April 26, at Sandburg Middle School. Featured speakers were York High School students and 2016 Exemplary Volunteer Service award winners Ella Pittman, Brenna Bohaboy and Christina Sapata.

Named as Exemplary Youth Volunteers were the following individuals: Eisleigh Harding, Benjamin Hoffmann, Elizabeth Maloney, Theodore Miller and Maria Muehleis. Exemplary groups were: The Dependent Clauses, Kartwheels for Kids and the York Community High School Garden Club. A link to the Exemplary Youth Service Awards program is available below.

The Exemplary Youth Service Awards program recognizes individuals who have demonstrated at least one of the following criteria through volunteer service: the level of involvement should demonstrate an exemplary commitment; the service must contribute to the health and well-being of a worthy individual or group or the community at large; the service should help promote the spirit of volunteerism.

The nominees range in age from elementary through high school. Eight groups and 13 individuals were nominated for this year’s awards. Serving as distinguished judges were Diane McGinnis, Director of Community and Government Relations for Edward-Elmhurst Healthcare; Marti Deuter, First Ward Alderman; and Elmhurst Police Deputy Chief Michael McLean.

The program will air on the Elmhurst government access channels (Comcast Channel 6 and AT&T Channel 99) on Fridays at 5:00 PM, beginning on May 5, and Sundays at 6 PM throughout the month of May
and will also be available for viewing on

Pictured above are Ted Miller and his nominator Meg March (with husband Harold March), as well as The Dependent Clauses - both recipients of 2017 Exemplary Youth Service Awards, sponsored by the Elmhurst Commission on Youth.

Posted by: Melea Smith, District Admin, Elmhurst Community Unit School District 205 Published:5/1/17
Audience: Homepage